Shop Amazon
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide USA
Shop Amazon

New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands

  • Type: Archipelago
  • Travel Genus: Sight
  • Sight Category: Terrestrial Feature

Pelagic Birds and Penguins

The New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands consist of five archipelagos (Antipodes Islands, Auckland Islands, Bounty Islands, Campbell Islands and the Snares) in the Southern Ocean. The islands are between the in Antarctic Convergence and Subtropical Convergence, creating an excellent breeding ground for biodiversity. Wildlife populations are notable for the large populations of seabirds and penguins, 126 bird species in total. Adams Island, Disappointment Island and the Snares Islands some of the last places on earth with substantial areas of vegetation undisturbed by humans. - AsNotedIn


Geography »

Physiographic feature Archipelago

Data »

Particulars for New Zealand Sub-Antarctic Islands:
Category Marine Environ
Locale Type Natural Environ
Historic Use Natural Feature
Animal Penguin
Sight Category Terrestrial Feature

Shopping on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Google Ad

Google Ad