Y/M/D Person Association Description Composition Food Event
Y/M/D Person Association Description Composition Food Event
1682/00/00 11 Downing Street built in 1682 as part of Sir George Downing's new street and now incorporating one house and part of another, the remainder of which is occupied by No 10.
1775/00/00 Kenton Couse Architect 10 and 11 Downing Street are refaced by Kenton Cousec, c 1766-1775.
1826/00/00 John Soane Architect Fine Dining Room added by John Soane, 1825-26
1826/00/00 In 1806, First Chancellor Henry Petty-Fitzmaurice moves into Number 11. The house became the official residence of the Chancellor of the Exchequer in 1826.
1908/00/00 David Lloyd George Chancellor of the Exchequer David Lloyd George works as Chancellor of the Exchequer from 1908 to 1915.
1924/11/06 Winston Churchill Chancellor of the Exchequer Churchill is appointed Chancellor of the Exchequer. Assuming any war was at least ten years away, Churchill strongly opposes the Admiralty's plans for building warships, the development of naval aviation and a naval base in Singapore. Winston Churchill, Member of Parliment
1964/00/00 10 and 11 Downing Street are reconstructed and restored under the direction of Raymond Erith 1960-1964.

Data »

Particulars for 11, Downing Street Sw1:
Area of Significance Architecture
Sight Category Building
Politics Downing Street
Category for Historic Use Government
Historic Use Government Office
Criteria Person
Area of Significance Politics-government
Historic Use Single dwelling
Building Style Townhouse

English National Heritage List: 1356989

Shopping on Amazon

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Google Ad

Google Ad